TV I Watched: Wednesday 10/25

American Horror Story: Asylum

After a first episode that did what AHS does best (everything over the top all the time) and proved that the second season would not disappoint fans, the second episode of American Horror Story: Asylum had a lot to live up to and it did just that.  It wasn’t as kitchen sink-y as the first episode (Are those aliens ever coming back?  This show isn’t exactly known for always wrapping up plot points) but it served enough of the same creepy atmosphere, compelling writing and brilliant performances to keep the momentum going.  The sex-crazed newlyweds seem to be on their way out, which is great because their storyline only served to take precious time away from the real draw: old-school asylums and Catholicism will never not be scary and together, they’re just delicious.  The exorcism storyline seemed a bit too directly lifted from The Exorcist, even for a show that often pays tribute to classic horror movies, but it was well-done enough to not bother me too much.  It certainly had its purpose, though.  The possession of Sister Mary Eunice means that my beloved Lily Rabe will be able to do more this season than make that crazy crying face she makes (A face that I am in love with.  She’s a stage actor through and through).  This show was great in its first season, even though it was obvious the writers were flying by the seat of their pants and planned almost nothing, but the increased focus of the writing team in this season has turned it into a veritable juggernaut of horror television.

Modern Family

I am a huge sucker for Halloween episodes but this one wasn’t just good because of the holiday, it actually ended up being the most solid episode of this season (so far).  Claire’s love of Halloween shows up every once in a while to humanize a character I normally despise because of  her total lack of relatability (I suppose mean, competitive people could relate her, but I certainly don’t).  It was nice to see her actually enjoy something and the prank she pulled on Phil veered the show into legitimate horror movie territory.  There were moments where I felt that very familiar tension that I usually only get from slasher movies.  The reveal didn’t make me jump I can’t but really complain because, you know, this is Modern Family not Halloween.  Rico Rodriguez continued to be a terrible actor but he didn’t have a big part in the episode, so it didn’t make me want to rip my hair out.  I know, I know, he’s thirteen but doesn’t he always sound like he’s reading off cue cards?  I’ve been a little disappointed with the fourth season of this show but if this episode is any indication, it’s going to get a lot better.

Leave a comment